Why the versions are useful ?
You have the option of creating forms and modifying them as many times as you want.
When you are ready to publish your form for your field teams, you can make the version of your form active.
If you wish to make changes, without damaging the proper functioning of your teams, you will then have the possibility of creating a new version of your form which you can modify without impacting the form that your operators will use.
Once the changes are made, if you decide to release this new version, then users will see the new version on their mobile app.
Version 1.0 : I create my form, once the creation is complete, I publish it. Operators will then have access to this form on their mobile application.
My procedures having evolved, I must make modifications to my form in order to update it. I will then create version 1.1 of my form. This version will have the status "Draft" as long as it is not published. The accessible version will always be version 1.0.
Once the modifications are finished, I will publish my version 1.1 and my technicians will use this new version to carry out maintenance operations on the engines.
Version 1.0 will then be "inactive".
How to publish a version ?
When you have finished creating a form in the editing studio, you can publish it:
- Exit the form
- Select "Publish Now"
If you want to modify your document, you must:
- Create a new version
- Make the necessary changes
- Save and exit
If you don't have any modifications to do, you can click into "Publish".
To go further
- If you want to duplicate the form, publish the version. If you do not, the duplicate form will be empty because the duplicate will be based on no version!
- There is no version limit. However, when a new version is published, it is not possible to start from an inactive version.
- Version 1.0 is published.
- I decided to create version 1.1 in order to make changes to my form.
- Once these have been carried out, I publish version 1.1, version 1.0 then obtains the status "Inactive".
- I would then no longer be able to modify or start over from version 1.0.